Lion Tamer Wins 2010 Victoria Derby at Melbourne Cup Carnival

October 30th, 2010

Classy New Zealand runner Lion Tamer has continued their impressive form in Australia this season, winning the classic three-year-olds showdown of the year with a comprehensive victory in the 2010 Victoria Derby at Flemington’s Melbourne Cup Carnival today.

Storming Home colt Lion Tamer was coming off a solid second place finish to Rekindled Interest in the AAMI Vase, but turned the tables today with a smashing run in the $1.5 million Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m), relishing the soft rain-affected track.

The Murray and Bjorn-trained Lion Tamer settled well with champion hoop Hugh Bowman settling him into second spot behind the early leader Almindoro.

The pace was right as were the conditions and after going to the front at the 800m mark Lion Tamer pulled away from the field impressively, beating his closest rival Praecido by a comprehensive six and a half lengths – easily the biggest winning margin of the day – with Retrieve a close third.

Lion Tamer has now won five of their 11 career starts, obviously a wet tracker that likes the ground soft, which worked for them in the Derby today.

The favourite Rekindled Interest was a well-beaten fifth, finishing over 12 lengths away from the winner.

2010 AAMI Victoria Derby Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 3 LION TAMER(14) Hugh Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker 55.5 2-46.43
2nd 5 PRAECIDO(10) Craig Williams David Payne 55.5 6.5L
3rd 1 RETRIEVE(2) Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 55.5 6.7L
4th 9 DIGITAL FORTRESS(12) Blake Shinn Guy Walter 55.5 7.7L
5th 2 REKINDLED INTEREST(6) Dwayne Dunn Jim Conlan 55.5 12.2L
6th 11 ALMINDORO(4) Steven King Steve Richards 55.5 14.2L
7th 6 YULALONA(13) Mark Zahra Peter Snowden 55.5 15.0L
8th 12 COSMONAUT(16) Michael Rodd Bart Cummings 55.5 17.7L
9th 10 SHOOTOFF(11) Corey Brown Graeme Rogerson 55.5 19.0L
10th 16 ULUNDI(3) Ben Melham Pat Carey 55.5 20.5L
11th 8 LUCKYI’MBAREFOOT(1) Dean Holland Tracey Templeton 55.5 26.0L
12th 13 KIRINATA(9) Nash Rawiller Paul Perry 55.5 34.0L
13th 14 PERFECT PECS(15) Craig Newitt Rick Hore-Lacy 55.5 35.7L
14th 4 SMOKIN’ JOEY(5) Damien Oliver Lee Freedman 55.5 40.7L
15th 15 TALE OF THUNDER(7) Jim Cassidy John P Thompson 55.5 42.7L
16th 7 KUDAKULARI(8) Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 55.5 47.2L
Src 17 ABSOLUTELYAWESOME Luke Nolen Michael Moroney
Src 18 SHADOWOFEXCELLENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
Src 19 ACCLAIMED CHAOS Dean Yendall Peter Healey
Src 20 KERCHINGS Michael Walker Anthony Cummings