2011 Queen’s Cup Final Field Released – Golden Slipper Day April 2

March 30th, 2011

The $125,000 Queen’s Cup will run as Race 8 on Rosehill Garden’s Golden Slipper Day this Saturday April 2, 2011, and the final field and barrier draw for the Group 3 race has now been released.

The 2000m Queen’s Cup is a quality handicap open to all horses aged three-years-old and upwards.

Luen Yat Forever will grace the 2011 Queen’s Cup final field with his presence, and will be hoping for his first Australian win in seven race starts.

The Peter Moody-trained gelding finished second in the Listed Sky High Stakes last start, missing out on the win by a short nose.

Luen Yat Forever has come to Australia after an extremely successful racing career in Macau, where he won a total of seven Group races.

The Honours List gelding will jump from barrier eight in the 2011 Queen’s Cup and will carry the top weight of 57.5 kilograms.

Also included in the 2011 Queen’s Cup final field is Lee Freedman’s Well Rounded.

The Reset mare will be looking to rectify her disappointing preparation so far, which has seen her fair no better than seventh.

The four-year-old mare has won three of her 18 career starts, including the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes at Flemington last preparation on November 6, 2010.

Joseph Pride’s Vision And Power and Garry Frazer’s Scottish Border are also amongst the 2011 Queen’s Cup final field members.

The 2011 Queen’s Cup will run as Race 8 on Golden Slipper Day at 4.50pm (AEDST).

2011 Queen’s Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw

No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Handicapper Rating
1 LUEN YAT FOREVER Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 8 57.5 105
2 VISION AND POWER (NZ) Joseph Pride Michael Rodd 7 56.5 103
3 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Chris Munce 2 56 102
4 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride Rod Quinn 15 53 95
5 SOLID BILLING Craig Ritchie Cameron Lammas 5 53 94
6 WELL ROUNDED Lee Freedman Brenton Avdulla 9 53 94
7 BEIJING BOY (NZ) Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 16 53 93
8 KUTCHINSKY Tony Noonan Glen Boss 4 53 92
9 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Jim Cassidy 1 53 91
10 SCOTTISH BORDER Garry Frazer Tim Clark 14 53 89
11 SYREON Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 3 53 89
12 BASE (NZ) Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 11 53 87
13 LAMASERY David Vandyke Corey Brown 12 53 87
14 RUBINACCI Tony Vasil Kathy O’Hara 6 53 85
15 KING LIONHEART Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 10 53 80
16 SHADOW MINISTER Garry White Nathan Berry (a) 13 53 80