2011 AJC Australian Derby Nominations Released

April 5th, 2011

A total of 72 horses have been nominated for the 18 horses starting field of the $1.5 million AJC Australian Derby at Randwick Racecourse this Saturday April 9, 2011.

The Group 1 AJC Australian Derby is a 2,400 metre race for three-year-olds that is run under set-weight conditions.

Included in the nominations is March 26’s Rosehill Guineas winner Jimmy Choux.

Jimmy Choux has now won his past five starts, with all five being of Group level.

The extremely talented three-year-old New Zealand import had his very first Australian race start in the Rosehill Guineas, and has proven that he is more than capable of knocking his Australian competitors out of the park.

Trainer, John Bary, is confident that Jimmy Choux will perform at his best in the AJC Australian Derby.

“My job is to keep him ticking over and make sure he gets there at his top,” said Bary.

“I think Jimmy Choux is the best horse and he should win if he gets normal luck.”

Bary was thrilled with Jimmy Choux’s recovery after winning the 2011 Rosehill Guineas last start.

“There isn’t any sign he has gone backwards since winning the Rosehill Guineas,” Bary said.

“In fact, he has done so well I had to give him a bit of extra work last week.”

The young Thorn Park colt will look to make it 11 wins from 18 starts with a win in the 2011 AJC Australian Derby this Saturday.

Also included in the 2011 AJC Australian Derby nominations is Michael Moroney’s Brazilian Pulse, who finished third in the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes behind Mirjulisa Lass at Rosehill last weekend.

Brazilian Pulse, who won last year’s Crown Oaks at Flemington on November 4, 2010, will be attempting to win her second Group race of her preparation, after she posted victory in the Group 3 Keith Nolan Classic on March 26, 2011.

The Captain Rio filly has won five of her nine starts and has accrued more than $1.12 million in prize money.

Peter Moody’s Lights Of Heaven also features in the 2011 AJC Australian Derby nominations.

The Zabeel filly remains unbeaten across all of her four starts, including the Group 2 Fillies Classic and the Group 1 SA Oaks.

The three-year-old will be attempting to claim her fifth straight victory when she tackles the 2011 AJC Australian Derby at Randwick this weekend.

Also amongst the 2011 AJC Australian Derby nominations are Bart Cummings’ I Think I Do and Peter Snowden’s Retrieve.

2011 AJC Australian Derby Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ABSOLUTELYAWESOME (NZ) Michael Moroney 78
2 ALMODOVAR (NZ) Peter G Moody
3 ANACHEEVA Peter G Moody 105
4 APRES Clinton McDonald
5 BLACKIE (NZ) Michael Kent
6 BRAZILIAN PULSE (NZ) Michael Moroney 104
7 CHICO BONITO Jason Coyle 61
8 CORAL REEF David Hayes
10 DALINE Guy Walter 56
11 DIAMOND JIM David Payne 69
12 DOMESKY Michael Kent 87
13 DON’T PUT IT THERE (NZ) Jim & Greg Lee
14 DUCARIUS Paul Perry
16 EDELSTONE Guy Walter 50
17 ELUSIVE KING Peter G Moody
18 EMERITUS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
19 GILDED SPUR Anthony Cummings
20 GOLDSTONE Bart Cummings 74
21 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James 80
22 HIGH DENSITY Joe Cleary
23 I THINK I DO Bart Cummings
24 JETER John P Thompson
25 JETHRO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
26 JIMMY CHOUX (NZ) John Bary 110
27 KIM DIVINE Bart Cummings
28 KING GLADIATOR Chris Waller 63
29 KUDAKULARI (NZ) Bart Cummings 85
30 LIGHT BRIGADE Gai Waterhouse 85
31 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody
32 MASQUERADER David Payne 94
33 MAULES CREEK John P Thompson 71
34 MEAISIN (NZ) Danny O’Brien
35 MISSING IN ACTION (NZ) Michael Moroney
36 MOONSTONES (NZ) Anthony Cummings 56
37 MR CONSOLIDATOR Leon Corstens 66
38 MUIRFIELD (NZ) Michael Moroney
39 MUKARRAR David Hayes
40 MUST HAVE (NZ) Fran Houlahan & Brian Johnston
41 NEEDS FURTHER Gai Waterhouse 73
42 NONINO Nick Olive
43 OFORAWESOME (NZ) Michael Kent
44 ON THE LEVEL (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker
45 PLAYING GOD Neville Parnham
46 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne 92
48 PRESSDAY Chris Waller 99
49 QUARTERBAR Michael Moroney 64
50 QUEEN’S FASHION David Hayes
52 REDWIN Leon Corstens
53 RETRIEVE Peter Snowden 99
54 RIMSKY (NZ) Bruce Wallace
55 ROCKSTARDOM Danny O’Brien
57 SCOTTU Joanna Methven
58 SEA LORD David Payne 85
59 SECOND DRAW John P Thompson
60 SHADOWOFEXCELLENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 67
61 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings 81
62 SHAMROCKER (NZ) Danny O’Brien 105
63 SHOOTOFF (NZ) Graeme Rogerson 69
64 SIERRA NEVADA (NZ) Richard Otto
65 SLATER Chris Waller 70
66 SPACE STATION Bede Murray 53
67 STRAIGHT ALBERT Michael Dobie 59
68 STRAIGHT ARROW (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
69 STRATOCRACY Michael Moroney
70 TAKE THE OATH Joseph Pride 72
71 TOOLBAG John P Thompson 56
72 VADER Anthony Cummings