Melbourne Cup 2012 – 67 First Acceptances Taken

October 9th, 2012

First acceptances have been released for the 2012 Melbourne Cup, which is set to run at Flemington Racecourse on Tuesday November 6, 2012.

The field has been reduced for 151 to 67 after acceptances were taken today for the $6 million race.

Included in the 2012 Melbourne Cup first acceptances is Green Moon, who won his most recent start at Flemington on Saturday.

The Montjeu entire won the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes by almost half a length in front of Seville and December Draw, in a race that is well known as a solid Cups form guide each year.

Green Moon has won six of his 18 race starts and has earned more than $1 million in prize money during his horse racing career.

Also included in the 2012 Melbourne Cup first acceptances is Manighar.

Manighar placed second in his first-up start this spring by a nose behind Southern Speed in the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes, before finished sixth in the Group 1 Underwood Stakes last run.

The Linamix gelding is also nominated for the Group 1 Caulfield Stakes, $3 million Cox Plate and $2.5 million Caulfield Cup this spring racing carnival.

Manighar has won 10 of his 31 race starts and has earned more than $3.3 million in prize money during his horse racing career.

Mourayan is also on track for a Melbourne Cup 2012 run this November after winning the Group 3 Craven Plate at Royal Randwick racecourse last weekend.

The seven-year-old has won four of his 32 race starts and has earned more than $1 million in prize money.

The Alhaarth entire was forced to miss last year’s Melbourne Cup due to injury, however, appears to be in top form going into this year’s event.

Niwot, Kelinni, Glencadam Gold and Dunaden are also included in the 2012 Melbourne Cup first acceptances.

Would you like to share in the Melbourne Cup riches this spring racing carnival?

Just open an account with our favourite online bookmaker now! are offering a bonus bet worth $400 to spend on the 2012 Melbourne Cup or any spring start you may choose.

This bet can be split into as many as four equal bonus bets, so you can have four times to fun with!

So sign up and start winning today!

2012 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre 1.5
2 AULD BURNS (GB) David Hayes 81
3 BACK IN BLACK (NZ) John Steffert 9.5
4 BIANMICK Michael Brady 100
5 BRIGANTIN (USA) Andre Fabre 6.5
6 BUDAI (GER) David Hayes 90
7 CAVALRYMAN (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor 5.5
8 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey 95
9 DANCE WITH HER David Brideoake & David Feek 103
10 DARE TO DREAM (IRE) Bart Cummings 9.5
11 DECEMBER DRAW (IRE) Mark Kavanagh 112
12 DUNADEN (FR) Mikel Delzangles 1.5
13 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 108
14 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 98
15 EXCLUDED (NZ) Robert Hickmott 97
17 FIORENTE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 6
18 GALILEO’S CHOICE (IRE) Dermot K Weld 6
19 GATEWOOD (GB) John Gosden 101
20 GLENCADAM GOLD (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 8
21 GREEN MOON (IRE) Robert Hickmott 112
22 GUNS AT FIVE (NZ) Peter G Moody 90
23 IBICENCO (GER) Luca Cumani 100
24 I’M JAKE (NZ) David Brideoake & David Feek 91
25 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 101
26 JAKKALBERRY (IRE) Marco Botti 4
27 KELINNI (IRE) Chris Waller 9.5
28 LE BARON (NZ) Jarrod McLean 76
29 LEICA DING Darren Weir 98
30 LESS IS MORE (FR) David Vandyke 9.5
31 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody 5
32 LOST IN THE MOMENT (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor 6.5
33 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
34 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 116
35 MIDAS TOUCH (GB) Robert Hickmott 107
36 MISS ARTISTIC (NZ) Shaune Ritchie 97
37 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 104
38 MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) Luca Cumani 5.5
39 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 6
40 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 95
41 MY DANCING DUEL (NZ) Michael Moroney 9.5
42 MY QUEST FOR PEACE (IRE) Luca Cumani 6
43 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
44 PEAL OF BELLS Gwenda Markwell 9.5
45 PERMIT (GB) Chris Waller 7
46 PRAIRIE STAR (FR) Danny O’Brien 6.5
47 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 105
48 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop 112
49 RED EYE SPECIAL (NZ) Michael Moroney 82
50 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 98
51 RIALYA Lloyd Kennewell 99
52 SABRAGE Michael Moroney 94
53 SAINT DESIR (GB) Tony McEvoy 82
54 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 108
55 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 108
56 SHAHWARDI (FR) Alain de Royer Dupre 101
57 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 115
58 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 9
59 TAC DE BOISTRON (FR) Michael Kent 6
60 TANBY Robert Hickmott 104
61 UNUSUAL SUSPECT (USA) Michael Kent 104
62 VATUVEI Peter G Moody 82
63 VERDANT (GB) Robert Smerdon 81
64 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 110
65 WESTERN SYMBOL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 8
66 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 111
67 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 101