Coolmore Stud Stakes

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is the premier sprint feature for three year olds at the Melbourne Cup Carnival. A Group 1 event worth a lucrative $500,000 it is raced over 1200m under set weight conditions.

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is conducted at the opening race meeting of Flemington’s four-day Cup Carnival on Victoria Derby Day, the showcase event of which is the $1.5 million Victoria Derby (2500m).  Other Group 1 features at the meeting are the Mackinnon Stakes and the MYER Classic.

Throughout history the Coolmore Stud Stakes has undergone a number of dramatic changes. It was first run in 1933 as an autumn race for two year olds. Then from 1969 it was moved into the spring racing calendar and the age was increased to three year olds. It became a Group 1 status race in 2006, and prior to 2007 the Coolmore Stud Stakes was known as the Ascot Vale Stakes.

Because of all the changes to status, conditions and time of year held, the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) who conduct the Coolmore Stud Stakes list its official inauguration as 2006 when the then ‘Ascot Vale Stakes’ was moved to Victoria Derby Day in order to attract the season’s best three-year-olds.

Since its move to the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Coolmore Stud Stakes has drawn a quality field of sprinters every year with recent winners including Headway (2009) and Gold Edition (2006).

Derby Day is held the Saturday prior to the illustrious Melbourne Cup Day. The Cup Carnival then continues with Crown Oaks Day and then concludes with Emirates Stakes Day.

Coolmore Stud Stakes Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day in late October or early November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Conditions: 3YO – Set Weights
  • Inaugurated: 1933

Coolmore Stud Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Brazen Beau Joao Moreira Chris Waller 1:10.7
2013 Zoustar Jim Cassidy Chris Waller 1:09.2
2012 Nechita Christian Reith John P Thompson 1:08.6
2011 Sepoy Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 1:10.5
2010 Star Witness James Winks Danny O’Brien 1:09.97
2009 Headway Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 1:08.5
2008 Northern Meteor Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 1:10.5
2007 Weekend Hussler Brad Rawiller Ross McDonald 1:08.9
2006 Gold Edition Jim Byrne Ron Maund 1:09.6