Crown Oaks

Held on the third day of the world-renowned Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Crown Oaks is a prestigious Group 1 thoroughbred race and one of the biggest events held at Victoria’s scenic Flemington Racecourse.

The Group 1 Crown Oaks is open to the season’s best three-year-old fillies, is worth a lucrative $1 million and is currently sponsored by Crown Casino.

Raced over a testing 2,500m under set weight conditions, the same distance and conditions as the Victoria Derby held on the opening Cup Carnival race day, the historic Crown Oaks was first run in 1861 and is the most esteemed fillies-only race of the spring.

The most popular preparatory race for fillies on their way to Crown Oaks glory is the Group 1 Wakeful Stakes (2000m) held on Victoria Derby Day.

The Crown Oaks is the showcase event and sole Group status race on Crown Oaks Day, which is held on the Thursday after Australia’s favourite race, the Melbourne Cup. Crown Oaks Day is known as ‘Ladies Day’ and the classic race is accompanied off the field by Flemington’s famous Fashions on the Field.

The four-day Flemington Carnival concludes the following Saturday with Emirates Stakes Day.

Crown Oaks Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: First Thursday of November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 2500m
  • Prizemoney: $1 million
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights
  • Inaugurated: 1861

Crown Oaks Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Set Square Hugh Bowman Ciaron Maher 2:39.33
2013 Kirramosa Nash Rawiller John Sargent 2:40.64
2012 Dear Demi Jim Cassidy Clarry Conners 2:35.88
2011 Mosheen Danny Nikolic Robert Smerdon 2:39.39
2010 Brazilian Pulse Craig Williams Michael Moroney 2:41.64
2009 Faint Perfume Michael Rodd Bart Cummings 2:37.20
2008 Samantha Miss Hugh Bowman Kris Lees 2:37.57
2007 Arapaho Miss Corey Brown Pat Carey 2:36.85
2006 Miss Finland Craig Williams David Hayes 2:37.16
2005 Serenade Rose Steven King Lee Freedman 2:36.35
2004 Hollow Bullet David Taggart John McArdle 2:41.28
2003 Special Harmony Damien Oliver Lee Freedman 2:39.04
2002 Bulla Borghese Chris Munce Ron Quinton 2:36.31
2001 Magical Miss Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 2:34.77
2000 Lovelorn Brett Prebble John Hawkes 2:35.38