Emirates Stakes

The Emirates Stakes is the final Group 1 race held in Melbourne for the spring season and is the last elite level race at Flemington’s annual four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

One of the most prestigious ‘mile’ sprint races held in Australia, the Emirates Stakes is run over a middle distance of 1600m. Run under quality handicap conditions, it has been worth a lucrative $1 million since the stakes were increased in 2007.

The Emirates Stakes has been registered under a variety of names and from its inauguration in 1919 through until 1961 was known as the Cantala Stakes.

The Emirates Stakes often attracts a number of international ‘milers’ prepared by overseas trainers who are also targeting the Melbourne Cup with a quality stayer.

Conducted by the Victoria Racing Club (VRC), the Emirates Stakes is the headline event at the final Cup Carnival meeting, Emirates Stakes Day. Known as ‘Family Day’ because of its range of family friendly activities and events, the Emirates Stakes Day is conducted on the first Saturday in November, which is the Saturday directly after the world-renowned Melbourne Cup Day.

Emirates Stakes Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: First Saturday of November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Prizemoney: $1 million
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Inaugurated: 1919

Emirates Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Hucklebuck Dom Tourneur Phillip Stokes 1:34.63
2013 Boban Glyn Schofield Chris Waller 1:36.58
2012 Happy Trails Damien Oliver Paul Beshara 1:35.99
2011 Albert The Fat Mark Zahra Chris Waller 1:36.05
2010 Wall Street Hugh Bowman Jeff Lynds 1:36.73
2009 All American Corey Brown David Hayes 1:33.98
2008 All Silent Dwayne Dunn Grahame Begg 1:35.8
2007 Tears I Cry Nikita Beriman Ciaron Maher 1:35.8
2006 Divine Madonna Stephen Baster Mark Kavanagh 1:35.5
2005 Valedictum Steven King Danny O’Brien 1:34.9
2004 Sky Cuddle Jason Benbow Peter Moody 1:39.1
2003 Titanic Jack Brett Prebble Tom Hughes 1:34.7
2002 Scenic Peak Danny Nikolic Dan Bougoure 1:33.4
2001 Desert Eagle Kerrin McEvoy Matthew Ellerton 1:37.3
2000 Testa Rossa Patrick Payne Dean Lawson 1:35.5