Mackinnon Stakes

The Mackinnon Stakes is a major Group 1 feature race held at the famous Flemington racecourse in Victoria as part of the coveted Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Conducted at the opening race meeting of the four-day Cup Carnival on Victoria Derby Day, the Mackinnon Stakes is one of three Group 1 races conducted on the day. The headline event is the AAMI Victoria Derby worth $1.5 million and other Group 1 highlights include the Coolmore Stud Stakes and the MYER Classic.

Victoria Derby Day is recognised worldwide as one of the most prestigious days of thoroughbred racing and is Australia’s sole Group-only meeting where all eight races hold Group status.

The Mackinnon Stakes is the premier weight for age event on Derby Day and is conducted over a staying distance of 2000m. Worth a lucrative $1 million since 2010 it attracts the season’s elite weight for age champions and middle distance gallopers, and is often used as a final preparatory run for the esteemed Melbourne Cup run over 3200m three days later on the first Tuesday in November.

Held on the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day in late October or early November, the Mackinnon Stakes and Victoria Derby Day are also proceeded by Crown Oaks Day and then the closing Cup Carnival meeting, Emirates Stakes Day.

Inaugurated in 1869 the Mackinnon Stakes was originally registered as the Melbourne Stakes but was renamed in 1936 after former VRC Chairman LKS Mackinnon.

A number of true turf champions have won the Mackinnon Stakes including the mighty Phar Lap (1930 & 1931), Comic Court in (1949 & 1950), Tulloch (1960), Let’s Elope (1991), Rogan Josh (1999) and Grand Armee (2004).

Mackinnon Stakes Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day in late October or early November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 2000m
  • Prizemoney: $1 million
  • Conditions: 3YO+ Weight-for-age
  • Inaugurated: 1869

Mackinnon Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Happy Trails Damien Oliver Paul Beshara 2:02.28
2013 Side Glance Jamie Spencer Andrew Balding 2:03.59
2012 Alcopop Craig Williams Jake Stephens 2:01.26
2011 Glass Harmonium Damien Oliver Michael Moroney 2:02.72
2010 So You Think Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 2:04.9
2009 Scenic Shot Shane Scriven Daniel Morton 2:03.4
2008 Theseo Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 2:03.8
2007 Sirmione Peter Mertens Bart Cummings 2:02.3
2006 Desert War Chris Munce Gai Waterhouse 2:02.3
2005 Lad Of The Manor Greg Childs Roger Hoysted 2:01.7
2004 Grand Armee Damien Oliver Gai Waterhouse 2:00.9
2003 Casual Pass Glen Boss Matthew Ellerton 2:05.8
2002 Lonhro Darren Beadman John Hawkes 2:02.6
2001 La Bella Dama Scott Seamer Graeme Rogerson 2:01.5
2000 Oliver Twist Greg Childs Brian Mayfield-Smith 2:05.4