Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most celebrated horse race.

The Melbourne Cup is Australia’s most celebrated and famous thoroughbred race and is recognised world-wide as one of the premier events on the annual horse racing calendar.

Final 2014 Melbourne Cup Results

  • 1st. Protectionist
  • 2nd. Red Cadeaux
  • 3rd. Who Shot Thebarman

Taking place at 3pm on the first Tuesday of November each year as the showcase event of Emirates Melbourne Cup Day at Victoria’s picturesque Flemington Racecourse, the Melbourne Cup is the richest handicap event in the world.

Now worth a record $6 million, the prestige and lucrative prizemoney of the Melbourne Cup attracts the finest stayers from all over Australia and a number of star international horses, as the crème of the racing crop contest the most testing ‘two-mile’ race in the world.

Inaugurated in 1861 and now raced over a distance of 3200m, the time-honoured Melbourne Cup has become an Australian tradition with Cup Day declared a public holiday in its home state of Victoria.

The world’s most renowned owners, trainers and jockeys all share the dream of winning a Melbourne Cup and taking home the historic ‘Loving Trophy’, and the status winning a Melbourne Cup brings to the horse and their connections is worth more than even the millions on offer in prizemoney.

Although potentially hundreds of horses can be nominated for the Melbourne Cup when nominations close around August, a maximum final field of only 24 lucky hopefuls take to the track to fight it out in the gruelling staying test.

Emirates Melbourne Cup Day is the second race meeting of Flemington’s coveted Cup Carnival, which brings Australia’s most esteemed racecourse to life over four elite race days. Cup Day is preceded by Victoria Derby Day and is followed by Crown Oaks Day before the Cup Carnival comes to a grand close with Emirates Stakes Day. Check out the Geelong Cup held two weeks earlier for a bit of form guidance.

Melbourne Cup Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: First Tuesday of November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 3200m
  • Prizemoney: $6 million
  • Conditions: 3YO & Over – Open Handicap
  • Max No of Starters: 24
  • Inaugurated: 1861

2015 Melbourne Cup Field

The 2015 Melbourne Cup final field is displayed below.

2015 Melbourne Cup Second Acceptances

The 2015 Melbourne Cup second acceptances were publicly released on Monday, the 26th of October.
The 2015 Melbourne Cup second acceptances are listed below.

2015 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances

The 2015 Melbourne Cup first acceptances will be announced on Tuesday, October 6th. Included in the 2015 Melbourne Cup first acceptances will be most of the likely contenders who appeared in the nominations.

The 2015 Melbourne Cup first acceptances are provided below.

2015 Melbourne Cup Nominations

Released on September 1st, the 2015 Melbourne Cup nominations include a number of extraordinary horses, indeed some of the best in the world. The Melbourne Cup weights were released on Tuesday, September 15th.

The 2015 Melbourne Cup nominations and weights will be listed below.

Melbourne Cup Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore Andreas Wohler 3:17.71
2013 Fiorente Damien Oliver Gai Waterhouse 3:20.30
2012 Green Moon Brett Pebble Robert Hickmott 3:20.45
2011 Dunaden Christophe Lemaire Mikel Delzangles 3:20.84
2010 Americain Gerald Mosse Alain de Royer Dupre 3:26.87
2009 Shocking Corey Brown Mark Kavanagh 3:23.87
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn Bart Cummings 3:20.58
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson 3:23.34
2006 Delta Blues Yasunari Iwata Katsuhiko Sumii 3:21.47
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman 3:19.17
2004 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman 3:28.55
2003 Makybe Diva Glen Boss David Hall 3:19.90
2002 Media Puzzle Damien Oliver Dermot K Weld 3:16.97
2001 Ethereal Scott Seamer Sheila Laxon 3:21.08
2000 Brew Kerrin McEvoy Mike Moroney 3:18.68