MYER Classic

The MYER Classic is a sensational Group 1 race open to fillies and mares held at Victoria’s famed Flemington Racecourse during the spring racing carnival.

Taking place at the opening meeting of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Group 1 MYER Classic is one of nine Group status races that make up Victoria Derby Day. The scheduled highlight is the AAMI Victoria Derby, and other Group 1 features that accompany the MYER Classic on the day include the Coolmore Stud Stakes and the Mackinnon Stakes.

One of the premier females-only race during the spring, the MYER Classic is raced over 1600m under weight-for-age conditions and is worth a rewarding $500,000 making it the richest race of its type in Australia.

It is one of the younger spring carnival features, first run in 1988 and started as a race solely for mares, with fillies first permitted to run in the MYER Classic in 2003. Gaining Group 1 status in 2004, the MYER Classic has undergone a number of name changes related to sponsorship, but has been registered under its current title since 2005.

The MYER Classic and Victoria Derby Day are followed by the Melbourne Cup Day, Crown Oaks Day and then Emirates Stakes Day.

MYER Classic Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: Saturday before the Melbourne Cup in late October or early November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Conditions: Fillies & Mares – Weight-for-age
  • Inaugurated: 1988

MYER Classic Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2014 Bonaria Michael Rodd Pat Hyland 1:36.6
2013 Red Tracer Nash Rawiller Chris Waller 1:36.5
2012 Appearance Michael Rodd Guy Walter 1:34.97
2011 Hurtle Myrtle Damien Oliver Matthew Smith 1:37.5
2010 Sacred Choice Corey Brown Joseph Pride 1:38.9
2009 Typhoon Tracy Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 1:35.3
2008 Forensics Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden 1:35.9
2007 Divine Madonna Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 1:36.1
2006 Lyrical Bid Craig Williams Brian Mayfield-Smith 1:37.6
2005 Lotteria Larry Cassidy Gai Waterhouse 1:35.4
2004 Miss Potential Glen Boss Bill Borrie 1:37.5
2003 Zanna Corey Brown John Hawkes 1:38.4
2002 Miss Zoe Justin Sheehan Les Bridge 1:35.8
2001 Market Price Glen Boss Tony McEvoy 1:34.2
2000 Super Sequel Darren Gauci Robert Priscott 1:37.8