Victoria Derby

The Group 1 Victoria Derby is a major attraction at Flemington’s annual Melbourne Cup Carnival and is one of the premier races for three-year-olds in the spring.

Held on the opening day of the Cup Carnival, the Victoria Derby is a testing 2500m Group 1 race for quality three-year-olds run under set weight conditions. Colts and geldings must carry 55.5kg and fillies have a small weights allowance, asked to carry 53kg.

Worth a lucrative $1.5 million the Derby attracts the season’s top three-year-olds and has in the past produced a number of Melbourne Cup runners and placegetters.

Horses to win the Victoria Derby and go on to win the next year’s Melbourne Cup include Efficient in 2006-07, and the legendary Phar Lap in 1929-30.

First run in 1885, the Victoria Derby is conducted by the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) and is one of the club’s most important races as it is the oldest classic race in Australia.

Although fillies took out the first three runnings of the Victoria Derby, no filly has been successful since Frances Tressday back in 1923.

Taking place at Victoria’s scenic Flemington Racecourse, the Derby is the scheduled highlight of the prestigious Victoria Derby Day, which is the only race meeting in Australia where every event has Group status.

The AAMI Victoria Derby Day kick starts the four-day Cup Carnival, which is Flemington’s most famous racing carnival, and takes place on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup. Following Derby Day the course hosts the Emirates Melbourne Cup Day, Crown Oaks Day and then the carnival concludes with Emirates Stakes Day.

Victoria Derby Fast Facts

  • Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Date: Saturday before Melbourne Cup – Late October / Early November
  • Status: Group 1
  • Distance: 2500m
  • Prizemoney: $1.5 million
  • Conditions: 3YO – Set Weights
  • Inaugurated: 1855

Victoria Derby Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2013 Polanski Hugh Bowman Robbie Laing 2:38.66
2012 Fiveandahalfstar Damien Oliver Anthony Cummings 2:35.92
2011 Sangster Hugh Bowman Trent Busuttin 2:40.33
2010 Lion Tamer High Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker 2:46.43
2009 Monaco Consul Corey Brown Michael Moroney 2:41.68
2008 Rebel Raider Clare Lindop Leon MacDonald 2:36.90
2007 Kibbutz Craig Williams David Hayes 2:40.92
2006 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson 2:38.35
2005 Benicio Noel Callow Lee Freedman 2:37.08
2004 Plastered Paul Harvey Lindsay Smith 2:35.49
2003 Elvstroem Damien Oliver Tony Vasil 2:38.99
2002 Helenus Steven King Leon Corstens 2:40.54
2001 Amalfi Damien Oliver Peter Moody 2:34.63
2000 Hit The Roof Glen Boss David Hall 2:39.02